Banana Cakes with Green Tea Butter Cream


Lovely!

(though everyone says the green frosting looks like dog poo….(-_-;)…)

So I’ve been a total scrooge this Christmas. I dunno’ what is up with me and holiday spirit, but I just don’t have it. It annoys me beyond belief when I’m watching my favorite TV shows in the dead heat of summer (cause I’m marathoning through Bones on Netflixs), and even though the seasons don’t match up, I get to a Christmas episode, in which everyone’s jollying about, singing Christmas carols: I  despise Christmas music [death to my ears~~~bleeeh]…

…though I do love that Last Christmas song, and technically speaking I did kinda’ get excited back when I was Janitor Girl at That Clothing Store I Used to Work At when we would get cool white and green theme wrapping paper, and cute little brown gift boxes for the season of spendthrift-ing. So maybe I’ve de-scrooge-a-fied–just a little bit.

But I dunno’, I woke up Christmas morning around 12pm (so late!)  and after watching this lovely little cake video on YouTube– I just felt inspired! I’d made some green tea cookies a couple days before (that recipe: coming soon!) and still had plenty of green tea powder leftover, so I thought, “ehhh? Why not!” I guess subconsciously my Christmas heart did grow two sizes that day, because I did all this decorating to make the cupcakes look like Christmas trees–the cranberries look like some sorta’ red fruit thingy growing on them, and OMG the sugar snow! Lovely, lovely, lovely! “Lovely”, by the way, is one of my favorite words. hehe. ^_^

Ingredients: Banana Cakes (makes about 14 regular sized cupcakes) [adapted and modified just a bit from on YouTube]

1 stick butter, softened

1 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 egg yolk

1 LARGE banana

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups cake flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 cup heavy cream

The How

  1. Take the soften butter (microwave it until it starts to melt) and cream it in a large bowl. Add the sugar and eggs to the mixture.
  2. Mash the banana and add it to the rest of the wet ingredients.
  3. Add the vanilla extract, set aside.
  4. Add the cake flour, salt, and baking powder to another large bowl. Stir together with a whisk until combined.
  5. In batches, shift the flour mixture into the wet ingredients and beat with an electric mixer. The batter will be slightly thick by the time all the flour has been added. Add the heavy cream to the mixture, and beat with the electric mixer.
  6. In a cupcake tin lined with cupcake liners, scoop the batter into the tins. Bake in the oven for about 30-35 minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit, or until a tooth pick inserted in the middle comes out clean.*
  7. Cool on a wire rack (if you possess such a thing–which I don’t, otherwise just cool on a plate)

*Because these are banana cakes, the banana is naturally mushier, which in turn may make the cakes appear a little undercooked; even though, when you insert a tooth pick into them, the tooth pick comes out clean–but this is only because of the banana’s texture.

Ingredients: Green Tea Butter Cream

2 tablespoons (matcha) green tea powder* (see recipe notes)

4 tablespoons heavy cream (plus additional to smooth the icing)

3 cups powder sugar, shifted

1 stick butter at room temperature

The How:

  1. Add the (matcha) powder to a large bowl, and add the heavy cream—form into a paste.
  2. Add the powder sugar in batches into the paste—the mixture might be a bit  tough and crumbly, but this is okay.
  3. Add the butter to the mixture and cream with an electric mixer
  4. Slowly pour small amounts of heavy cream into the butter-matcha-sugar mix until the mixture forms into a smooth beautiful green icing.

For Assembly:

Some dried cranberries.

Sugar crystals for sprinkling.

Banana Cakes

Green Tea Butter Cream Icing

The How:

  1. Take the butter cream and fill an icing bag with it (you can also spread it if you prefer). Use a round tip to pipe the icing.
  2. Take the cooled banana cakes and pipe icing on top, in spirals. Starting from the edges and working your way inward—this will create a tree like effect.
  3. Garnish with dried cranberries, and sprinkle a little bit of sugar on top the “trees.” Viva La Snow.

It doesn’t snow where I live. PHEW~~~

Eat ♥ Enjoy

I really loved the cranberries on this, the green tea butter cream is really sweet, and so the tartness of the cranberries complements the flavors well. You could probably just add the cranberries into the banana cake recipe if you wanted too, but I think they look lovely on top. Also, in my humble opinion cake with frosting on it always taste best post refrigeration. Refrigerate, then eat! (^_^)b ←(this is a smiley face with a thumbs up sign if it wasn’t otherwise obvious)

Recipe Notes

What is Matcha? Where can I buy it?

Matcha is a Japanese green tea powder used for cooking and drinking. I got mine at Ranch 99, but you can likely get it at any Asian/Japanese market. Though I’m sure upscale tea houses and coffee shops like Peets sell it (is Peets upscale?) if you’re looking for it at a Chinese supermarket, like Ranch 99, ask for 绿茶粉–lu cha fen, and bring in the characters, if you can’t speak Chinese.

6 thoughts on “Banana Cakes with Green Tea Butter Cream

  1. exploding diapers….IN YOUR FACE! I’m sorry, its really the shape and color of the frosting; like the grinch decided to give Santa cupcakes instead of cookies, so he set these on a plate near milk and literally pooped on the Christmas tradition.

Leave a Reply

